PAINTING WITH ONE HAND TIED BEHIND YOUR BACK (OR IN A SLING)

BAD NEWS, GOOD NEWS

Three weeks ago, when I fell off a three foot stepladder, I landed hard on my right wrist – broke two bones, the radius and the ulna. Fortunately it was a clean break, and surgery was not needed. I count myself lucky – it could have been a hip, or my spine!

I was facing six weeks without holding a paint brush. Not happening! So I decided to see if I could train my left hand to hold a paint brush. After all, they train elephants to paint with their trunks. What’s so difficult about using my other hand? Plenty, I found out. Just trying to open a tube of paint was a challenge, but with trusty old pliers, I soon figured it out.

I thought I’d start with watercolors – easier to clean up.

The first attempt was pitiful.BROKEN WING 1 - LOW RES

I tried again, going for softer colors and more water: BROKEN WING II LOW RES (2)

Not quite as bad, but not terribly impressive.

The next attempt was a study in reds, in Acrylic on canvas board. I’m pretty happy with the results this time.

WAITING

BROKEN WING I – “WAITING” 10” X 8”

Liking the monochromatic palette, my next piece flowed more easily:

BROKEN WING - WAITING STILL LOW RES

BROKEN WING II – “WAITING STILL” 12 X 9

Feeling the flow, I decided to move on to some blues and greens.

stormy seas low res “STORMY SEAS”

I may want to work on this a bit more – still a good start, I think. Maybe not.

Trying to regain a little more control with my brushes, I recalled memories of a sunset at Big Bend:

SUNSET IN BIG BEND LOW RES “BIG BEND SUNSET”

and in class Tuesday, a student asked for help with her clouds, so with my right arm in a sling, I came up with this one:

CLOUDS ILLUSIONS LOW RES“CLOUDS ILLUSIONS”

3 Responses to “PAINTING WITH ONE HAND TIED BEHIND YOUR BACK (OR IN A SLING)”

  1. Sherry Says:

    What I especially love (to borrow Robin’s words) is that Shirley has never lost her sweet disposition and taken then disaster all in stride and made the most of a bad situation. God Love Her, she is always an inspiration to all her students and Art Chix friends.

    Like

  2. Can’t keep a good artist down. I especially love the two Waiting paintings. I can’t wait to see what you do next with the one hand!

    Like

    • Sherry, without my friends I couldn’t begin to carry on. When God lead us to this community, we knew we were richly blessed. Thank you and all the Art Chix for your love and your support. You are my angels – maybe even those spirits that appear in my work!

      Like

Comments are closed.

