THE RAIN IN MAINE FALLS, MAINLY!

FIRST PHOTO             SECOND PHOTO

On the third day of our workshop, a storm moved across the Northeast. Maryland, D.C., Long Island, Boston and Portland all had severe flooding. Our day was cool, wet and windy. The view from our cabin did not look promising.

The morning critique at Friar’s Bay Studio went well. Michael had several suggestions for my “Old Sparky” painting, which I have yet to try, then we donned ponchos and headed out to Herring Cove. He led us to a beautiful hillside with huge slabs of rocks leaning on the hillside. It was as though a mighty sea god had just lifted them out and rested them on the shore. Despite a windy rain blowing in on us, Michael set up his easel under the shelter and began his demo.

HERRING COVE This was probably the one new technique I will remember always. As he began painting in the main shapes, I was surprised as he blocked in huge triangles where the pine trees stood on the hill.HERRING COVE IV They looked so solid, I questioned him about it. He said that he would come by with the sky color and paint negatives spaces as he saw them.

Shivering as only a South Texas gal in Maine can do, I watched amazed as he transformed those masses into lovely, lacy trees.
HERRING COVE VII

HERRING COVE V

The others gritted their teeth, found shelter as they could and began working. My mama didn’t raise no fool. I went home. Yup, skipped class, thanked Michael for the amazing demo and went to my cabin. John had the heat on! In August! I loved it.

This was a perfect day to visit FDR’s summer “cottage,” and also to enjoy lunch at the Fireside Inn. A side Note; August 9th, 2014, was the official celebration day for the 50th anniversary of the Roosevelt-Campobello International Park.To celebrate the Park in his own way, Michael recently painted fifty small paintings of scenes either within or from the Park. These small paintings were on the walls of the Fireside Inn, where we had a hot lunch. Each was a lovely little jewel, a moment captured forever. That’s what art does!
HERRING COVE X

HERRING COVE XI By the way, Michael’s book: “Fifty Paintings: Roosevelt-Campobello International Park: Celebrating the Park’s 50th Anniversary,” is available both in paperback and Kindle versions through Amazon.com.

The rain was coming down pretty heavily by now, so I took refuge in FDR’s beautiful summer home. As a small child, I had seen FDR from my father’s shoulders when he was on the campaign trail. My father was so impressed with him and what he accomplished that I guess a little of this rubbed off. I hope I can feel the same about other presidents in my lifetime.

FDR III

Here is a view of the beautiful flowers in the garden. I was delightfully surprised at the dahlias. I hadn’t seen them in many year and have fond memories of my Aunt Minnie’s dinner plate sized dahlias back in the 40’s in Oklahoma.
FDR GARDENS Walking into the parlor, it was neat to see the sailboat, FDR’s pipe and his hat, together with some children’s games from my childhood. It took me back to some wonderful times, and the entire house had the atmosphere of waiting for these folks to come back. By the way, Ken Burns has filmed a documentary on the Roosevelts, which will air on PBS September 14. I’ll enjoy revisiting some of those memories, I think. It’s neat to realize as one ages, one becomes a part of history. I’m beginning to feel like a dinosaur!

FDR IV Walking through the beautiful old house, I enjoyed the guest rooms, Harry’s room, FDR’s space, Eleanor’s room, the classrooms, kitchen and laundry room. Here are a few photos of these places.

FDR VIII FDR VII FDR VI FDR V FDR IV Tomorrow, our last class. What memories we have made!

Comments are closed.

