MEMORIES ARE MADE OF THIS – Day Three

DAY THREE STEP 1

I’ve been known to tell my students that they will one day hate almost every painting they are working on. For me, this may be that day. First, my constant companion remarked that I must be emulating Georgia O’Keefe, who painted her blue mountain over and over. He said I seem to paint the same rocks over and over. He may be right, but I don’t think I needed to hear that. At least that is my excuse for a rather frustrating session. To begin, I decided the rocks were too solid and needed more texture. Mixing Burnt Sienna, Thalo Blue and Alizaron Crimson, I painted over my rocks and then scraped across them with a palette knife. I also painted their reflections and smoothed over with a bit of lavender mix.

DAY THREE STEP 2

Deciding the sky needed some more warmth, I mixed Cadmium Red Medium with a bit of Gesso and painted the sky and the water with some pink streaks. I also added a little more blue into the sky on the right.

DAY THREE STEP 4

Making a pale ivory mix with gesso and bit of Cadmium Yellow Medium, I lightened the sky and the water in the center, and at the lower right edge.

DAY THREE STEP 5

Mixing a little yellow into my pink mixture, I added more warmth to the sky and the water.

DAY THREE STEP 7

I am gradually bringing more of the water over to the left edge. I may lose the beach altogether! Maybe the tide is coming in.

DAY THREE STEP 8

With a very wet brush, some pale lavender mix and gel medium, I painted over the sand, trying to bring movement into the foreground. I also rubbed this blend over the rocks, hoping to capture the fog as it began to rise.

DAY THREE STEP 1A

Adding creamy white with a large watercolor brush, I begin to build some wave action across the bottom of the rocks. I am not happy with the colors of the rocks, so struggle a bit with that. I also darken the sky with a mix of light purple made with Cadmium Red Medium and Cobalt Blue. I also add a little blue to the lower right corner.

DAY THREE STEP 9B

With Burnt Sienna and Raw Sienna, I play with the sand a little more, paint the rocks, rub the paint off the rocks, mutter a few imprecations and walk away. This painting can wait for another day. I hear it’s 5:00 somewhere!

2 Responses to “MEMORIES ARE MADE OF THIS – Day Three”

  1. Laura Lerond Says:

    Wow! you really went through a lot of iterations! The direction of your light source seems to keep changing – intentional? The color palette is yummy.

    Like

  2. Lanny & Kat Gustafson Says:

    What a nice way to end a looong day on the road. Cool! K. ***************************************************************

    Like

Comments are closed.

