MEMORIES ARE MADE OF THIS – Day Two

When you live in South Texas, in the summertime that cool Pacific air sounds really good. So, I crank up the a/c, turn on the ceiling fan and go back to work on this painting. With Raw Sienna and Burnt Sienna, I rough in the beach in the foreground.

BUILDING THE SAND That was too easy. Next, I mix Alizaron Crimson, Cobalt Blue and Burnt Sienna and rough in the rocks. It helps to mix a little of that lavender paint I used in the background to soften a little.

ROUGHING IN THE ROCKS

Blending all the colors I’ve used previously, I paint the horizon lines and with a lot of water in my brush, begin to paint over the reflections I roughed in with the rocks.

ADDING TEXTURE TO THE ROCKSI like to go back and forth between the rocks and the water, adding texture to the rocks with a bit of blue mixed with burnt sienna, then a bit of the background mix to soften the reflections in the water. Noticing the horizon slants downhill, I take time to measure again and mark the horizon with a pencil line to straighten it.

WARMING IT UPI think it’s time to add some life to the sky. Mixing Cadmium Red Medium, Alizaron Crimson and Titanium White, I paint the center and left side to warm the painting a bit. I mix Cobalt blue and white and brighten the sky on the right, to add interest.

ADDING BLUE TO THE SKIES

This is a little more interesting. I played with the sand a little by adding Burnt Sienna, Raw Sienna and white, added a few shadows to the rocks and began to wonder how will I get that glow on the wet sand that was my inspiration in the beginning. I think I see a little fog rising, but that may be my brain trying to visualize where I want to go with this. Refreshed with my little trip down memory lane, I think it’s time for a refreshing beverage. Tomorrow will be soon enough to wrestle with the next challenge. Enjoy!

THE FOG IS RISING

 

Comments are closed.

