MEMORIES ARE MADE OF THIS

Oregon Memory
Sometimes a memory begs to be painted. As we approached the Oregon coast last year, we came around a curve to see the sun setting over the little town of Netarts. As luck would have it, the camera was locked in the trunk and we were racing darkness. A pale lavender fog was rolling in, and the scene haunted me ever since. I thought I had forgotten the beauty of that moment, but almost a year later, the memory is still there. Playing with my watercolors recently, I made a quick sketch from memory and loved the reflections in the water. Today, ten months later, it’s time to paint this scene.

Follow along with me as we try, step by step, to recreate that special moment.

STEP ONE: I have a canvas, 24 x 30, underpainted with a bright blue paint. I painted gesso rather loosely over the canvas to create a neutral background.

STEP TWO: With Cobalt Blue added to the gesso mixture, I began defining the sky. I selected a small patch in the lower right corner to bring the sky mixture in for reflection.

GESSO WITH COBALT BLUE

STEP THREE: Adding Alizaron Crimson, I began painting a lavender sky and water, reserving the lower edge for the sandy beach.

ALIZARON CRIMSON MIXED IN, CLOUDS RUBBED IN

STEP FOUR: Using a soft paper towel, I scrubbed portions of the wet paint off the sky, creating the impression of clouds.

That was fun, but enough for today. We’ll see what tomorrow will bring!

5 Responses to “MEMORIES ARE MADE OF THIS”

  1. Laura Lerond Says:

    Sounds perfect – we have a date! Following this current painting is very instructional for me. Hope you are feeling close to 100%!

    Like

  2. Laura Lerond Says:

    What a joy to see you working, and with such a beautiful, ethereal subject matter and color palette. Think of you often, and eagerly look forward to more…..

    Like

    • I have so missed you – when the weather turns cool, let’s finish Sofia, o.k.?

      Like

      • Laura Lerond Says:

        She’s a beautiful concept – I would love to bring her to life with you! Those red boots and the vulture are waiting along with me. Plus I can’t wait to see the art pieces that I started and what they portend.

        Like

      • We’ll make some time in October and get her up and out – I know she belongs somewhere other than my studio!

        Like

Comments are closed.

