IT DOESN’T ALWAYS COME EASY! Day One.

BIG SCAREY BLANK NEW CANVAS. BIG SCAREY BLANK NEW CANVAS.[/caption]

I try to tell my students not to be intimidated by a blank canvas. One of them, apparently not believing me, described the new, larger canvas she purchased in this way: “Help, Help I need guidance. This canvas has arms and legs and large teeth in my dreams.”
Then, I walked into my studio and was faced with this. Suddenly, I felt what my student felt – intimidated!

The cure for this malady is to leap in, so I mixed gesso with cadmium red light and cadmium yellow medium, and prepared to cover 1,728 square inches.
UNDERPAINTING PALETTE low res2

In less time than you would think, I was halfway through the underpainting.

UNDERPAINTING BEGUN low res
Now I’m rocking and rolling and ready to rough in the horizon line. Using ultramarine blue, alizarin crimson and white, I mix a cool blue lavender, and paint the horizon line. Then I begin to rough in the clouds and add some color where the sea will be.
SKY AND SEA LAID IN low res6

This is the point where I begin to love my painting.

I try to emphasize, when painting water, especially a lake or ocean, the line must be straight. If your horizon line goes up or down, the water will run off, right?

I notice in my reference photo, that the sky is much lighter near the horizon, so I brighten the sky and begin to add the sunlight colors low in the water, where I’ll put a sea glow later.

SKY LIGHTENED LOW RES7

Ah, now I am really beginning to like my work!

But then……….I roughed in some rocks, as I remembered how massive they looked on the coast.

WITH ROCKS low res8

I am not happy with this composition. In fact, I really hate it! Time to go pour a glass of wine and decide what to do next. Maybe tomorrow will be better…

Comments are closed.

