Hello world!

This blank page is really frightening – and I thought a blank canvas was intimidating! Guess I’ll just have to get over it. It’s always fun to do something if you feel like you can share it with someone else. So, when I finish a painting, I want to put it out there for your comments. Be kind, please. Artists have tender feelings, but I do welcome objective criticism. I also want to share the “how to’s” in some of these blogs, step by step, so my students can learn a little as we go along. I’m teaching Fine Art at three San Antonio Michael’s stores, and I have several demo paintings I’ve done that I would like to share. Here’s the first one, called “LONE MAN STANDING,” which is small (9″ x 12″), done in acrylics. My inspiration was a gorgeous sunrise off my deck a couple of years ago.

My goal is to post one new painting every day, so even if it’s one I’ve had a while, maybe I’ll have posted 365 paintings by next December. I’ve moved my studio into the house during the cold weather, and hopefully that will inspire me to keep producing.

9 Responses to “Hello world!”

  1. thank you, that is helpful. I’m sure it helps others to know how perplexed we can get sometimes.

    Like

  2. I’m loving the step-by-step approach. The narrative helps beginning and seasoned artists navigate through the initial self-doubt and uncertainty that accompanies the birth of all creative efforts. Thanks and keep it up!

    Like

  3. Oh, OK…it’s coming from the format, automatically telling me I’m waiting for you to reply…Moderatiing my reply. This could go on forever!

    Like

  4. This is very well-balanced and the colors are spectacular. One of your best, I think.

    Like

  5. great! relates well to other artists or want to bes or just facinated. your step by step is interresting and informative.

    Like

  6. Go, S.E., go!!! Great idea! Good practice for the Maine workshop too.

    Like

Comments are closed.

